Oct 31, 2011

Nash of the Thieves' Guild by Tony Passarelli

The City of Port Gardale is under the rule of the God King. The Thieves’ Guild is a secret organization that operates in the shadows and back alleyways of the Port City. Life can be hard for a thief, especially hard for a boy thief...
Meet Nash of the Thieves’ Guild; he knows the meaning of hard because he is desperate.
Desperate for a virgin and desperate to stay alive!
Will the young thief spill his oats or will his deadly rival Jadrien spill his beans?
Fun and frolics, thrills 'n spills. It's time for high adventure where life is sweet and danger is only one footstep away.

A short funny story that kept a smile on my face.

Nash is a boy from the Thieves' Guild trying to protect himself and the guild from an uprising thieve with dark motives. To do so he follows him around and finally decides on a plan considering the help from the local whore-house.

The book is fast paced, funny and really makes you want to read more. Like it has happened so many times before when I read a short stroy...I want more. I'd love to read more stories about Nash growing up in the Thieves' Guild and facing more dangers.

The story is well written and the author does his job from page one. The book can keep your attention and stimulate your imagination.

Still wishing it was a full size book...

Oct 30, 2011

Arrived This Week [Oct.24 - 30]

This week I had a total of 16 arrivals, both e-books and print copies, but I'll try to keep the post small.

Print copies - All used, bought from awesomebooks.com

2.Dark Secrets (Book #1) by Elizabet Chandler


From Authors
6.Before (Heven and Hell, Prequel) by Cambria Hebert
7.Eden (Eden Series, Book #1) by Janelle Stalder
8.Nash of the Thieves' Guild by Tony Passarelli

9.Shadows of Past Memories (The Foxfire Chronicles, Book #1) by Alexandra Lanc
10.Emerald Staff (A Custodian Novel, Book #2) by Alison Pensy
11.Open Minds (Mindjack, Book #1) by Susan Kaye Quinn
12.Emotionally Charged by Selina Fenech
13.The New World (Chaos Walking, Prequel) by Patrick Ness
14.My Soul to Lose (Soul Screamers, Prequel) by Rachel Vincent

From Netgalley
15.Seraphina by Rachel Hartman (No Cover Yet)

Won (from http://www.behindtherows.com/)
16.Last Call by Jennifer Schmidt

Oct 29, 2011

The New World by Patrick Ness

In this dramatic prequel to the award-winning Chaos Walking Trilogy, author Patrick Ness gives us a short story of Viola's journey to the New World.

This was nothing like what I expecting and... I loved it! :) 

The story is really great and it made me want to read the next one right away...although I don't own it. 

It's the story of how Viola left her home, a space convoy, and head to the new world. With her parents, they are the first to arrive there, but nothing goes as planned! 

I'm going to get the next book as soon as I can, I want to know more about this story. Also I loved the authors writing, although it's in present time which I'm never really comfortable with.

Oct 28, 2011

Before by Cambria Hebert

What if your life was charmed and everything in it was perfect…
This is the story of my past. Of what things were like for me when everything was normal. Of what every teenager’s life is like. Clothes. Parties. Boys and summer vacation. What’s so wrong with that? I liked it. I was happy.
Until things changed. I changed.
I didn’t know that lies and secrets were about to take over my existence. I didn’t know there was someone out there, someone meant just for me. I didn’t know that I was about to go on a journey, a journey that would lead me to the girl I am today.
This is the beginning of the worst year of my life. Would I go back and change things? Erase everything that has happened to go back into these moments?
Not a chance.
This is a story of before.

Before is the prequel to Masquerade.

It allows us a glimpse into the lives of Sam and Heven before...before both of their worlds changed. The story made me impatient for the first book.

I love Cambria Hebert's writing and Sam's point of view. There is a whole mystery surrounding him and even when we see through his eyes we don't get to know a lot, it's really nice.This is a great story to get you pumped up for the real thing!

So, I learn what happened before, now I can't wait to learn about the after. :)


One last thing, as of today Masquerade went on pre-order! You can find the book here


Oct 27, 2011

Author Interview - Sabine A. Reed

Brief Introduction: 
Sabine A. Reed is the author of fantasy e-novella The Black Orb. She has her own Writing and Publishing Blog where she gives tips to new writers. You can find her at twitter SabineAReed also. You can read the first chapter of her book here.


Q: Let's begin with your novella, can you tell me a few things about The Black Orb?
A: The Black Orb is a fantasy novella released from Uncial Press. Aria helps support her older brother, who is one of nature's innocents, by running cons and picking pockets. When he disappears, she fears he has been taken by the minions of the Queen of Azmeer, to be enslaved in her army of conquest. While seeking word of his fate, she narrowly escapes capture herself, aided by a sharp-spoken old man who appears to have strange and magical powers. Bikkar claims to know how she can free her brother and at the same time defeat the Queen's potent weapon, the Black Orb, which sucks power from magicians.
Only after Aria and Bikkar find Marcus an enthralled bed slave of the Queen, does the old wizard reveal that just one device can defeat the Black Orb and only Aria can wield it. But first they must escape the stone warriors who pursue Bikkar. And then Aria must die, for no living hand can wield the powerful Dragon Claw.
Q: What triggered the idea of it, where did it all begin?
A: I wanted to write about a female hero who doesn’t have any magical abilities, but is forced to fight against magic in order to protect a loved one. The idea that she is a thief, has questionable morals but is willing to risk her life to save her brother took root in my mind, and didn’t let go until the story was complete.
Q: How did you create your main characters, are they based on anyone? A: The characters are not based on anyone, but I believe that even a hero should be flawed. Hence I made mine a shameless thief who is fighting evil because she wants to save her brother, but is forced to make choices that will influence her entire kingdom.
Q: What do you love the most about your novel?
I love the absolute devotion and love Aria has for her brother. I admire that. She will do anything, risk anything to save him. She is selfish in a way because she cares only for those who matter to her, but when it comes right down to it, she makes the hard choices. And then of course, there is the absolutely gorgeous setting of the fictional kingdom of Azmeer, a powerful weapon, an evil queen and a helpless wizard. It’s my version of what a fantasy story should be.
Q: Where do you usually draw inspiration from? 
A: I don’t think a writer should wait around for an inspiration to strike. Inspiration is a fickle concept. Writing is a job, and like all jobs it needs discipline and commitment. Having said that, I love reading fantasy, and perhaps my inspiration to write comes from the love of the genre itself. I write stories for myself. I’m the first reader, and need to be happy with what’s on the page.
Q: What do you think is the best and what's the worst thing about being a writer? 
A: The best thing about being a writer is having the liberty to create imaginative worlds and live in them - and not be considered insane. The worst thing is not actually being able to live in them. It’s hard to create fascinating fictional worlds that have magic and powerful witches and wizards, but settle with the mundane reality of everyday life.
Q: How was your trip through writing and publishing so far?
A: I’ve been writing for five years, and The Black Orb is my first published work. So you can say that it has been a hard journey; time consuming, but rewarding. I’ve treated it as on-the-job training, and I would never regret the experiences I’ve gathered in all these years.
Q: If you could travel back in time would you have done any of it differently? 
A: I would have taken some writing courses. Since I didn’t, I had to pretty much learn everything about writing and publishing on my own, and that has taken a lot of time.
Q: Do you have any tips or suggestions for new writers? 
A: Writers should write, write and write in different genres. Read a lot. Network with other writers. Visit the websites and blogs of other writers to see what they are doing, and what they say about the writing process. It’s absolutely essential to learn from other people’s experiences. I have my own blog Writing and Publishing Resource for new writers so that I can share my experience with others.
Q: What should we expect from you in the future? Do you have any new projects under construction? 
A: I have another fantasy e-novella in submission, and am currently working on an untitled fantasy trilogy. I expect to write more stories, because that’s what I love doing.


You can buy Sabine's e-novella from Amazon and Uncial Press
You can also read a  preview of it and my review.

Oct 24, 2011

The Black Orb by Sabine A. Reed

The Black Orb is absorbing all the magic from the Kingdom of Azmeer. The Queen is using its power to turn her armies into mindless zombies who care only about her. Aria never thought her brother would be one of them, but when the Queen's army takes him away to join them, she decides to save him. With the help of a weird old man, who is so much more than he originally seems, they travel to the Queen's city only to find her brother already under her spell. The old man tells Aria that the only way to stop the Orb and save her brother is the Dragon Claw, a mystical weapon with more power than anything else, they set out to find it and so their journey begins.

The world that Sabine A. Reed created was beautiful. A lot of magic, different races and so many beautiful sceneries. If only the book was bigger like over 400 pages it'd be so much better. I'd love to get a good description of everything and get some more detailed scenes and history facts. But it was a great fast read, with lots of adventure and...no romance, I loved especially that part, it was kind of refreshing!

I had a hard time connecting with the characters, in the end I didn't care if they lived or died, which usualy doesn't happen. The character of Aria was strong and devoted to her brother and cause but it felt like something was missing.

The writing style is really beautiful. It seems like the author gave thought every word and created a masterpiece. Some of the descriptions were so beautiful that got me lost in the poetry of everything.

I reccomend this to anyone who wants a fast read, full of adventure, magic and no romance!


Oct 21, 2011

Author Interview - Alexandra Lanc

I am very excited to host my very first author interview, so without any further ado I intoduce to you the contemporary young adult author Alexadra Lanc

Brief Introduction:
Alexandra Lanc is a Contemporary YA author who writes in a variety of genres, loves to create twisting plots, and listens to too much music. She is also the author of The Foxfire Chronicles: Shadows of Past Memories, the first in her science fiction/horror series, and Clara Claus, a Christmas novel. Alexandra lives in Florida (USA) with her family and calico cat, Sanura. 


Q: Let's begin with your books, can you tell me a few things about Clara Claus and The Foxfire Chronicles?
A: Shadows of Past Memories (the first book in my Foxfire Chronicles series, termed SOPM) and Clara Claus (termed CC) are very different. Clara Claus is a Christmas story revolving around hope, the holidays, and a bit of fantasy, whereas Shadows of Past Memories revolves around the struggles of two best friends as they try and move forward with their lives, pull away from their ugly pasts, and reconcile their memories (all while trying to run from an otherworldly madman who is bent on destruction and chaos). 
Q: What triggered the idea of them, where did it all begin?
A: The origins of both Clara Claus and Shadows of Past Memories are as different as the books are. The idea for Clara Claus originated from me listening to music (the Trans-Siberian Orchestra, in fact) one Christmas, realizing that there were hardly any Christmas stories about Jack Frost, who had always been my favorite winter "character", and the idea for SOPM came from a dream I had, after a particularly bad accident (for more info on that, please read the Author's Note at the back of the book).
Q: How did you create your main characters, are they based on anyone?
A: All of my characters are based on someone, though they aren't exactly mirror images of the people I know. The majority of my characters are made up of traits that I like, though. When I think of a character, I think of their part in the story, then I put together a list of traits that would be good for that character. Usually these things combined make me think of a person I know or have known, and then the character comes to life. 
Q: What do you love the most about your novels?
A: I try to love everything about my novels, but probably the thing I love most is the theme or message they share. I try and pick a distinct theme for each novel, and write about something that is important to me -- Clara Claus is mainly about hope, SOPM is about the past and moving on. I try to keep a sense of realism in my stories, a human quality. I want my stories to seem real, connect with my readers, though they are fantastical.
Q:Where do you usually draw inspiration from?
A:Most of my inspiration comes from the dreams that I have. If I can remember a dream when I wake up, I usually write it down, and half of the time I make it into a story. But everything inspires me, and I always try to look at the world with a fresh eye.
Q: What do you think is the best and what's the worst thing about being a writer?
A: The worst thing about being a writer is that it's lonely, a job you, by definition, have to do all by yourself for the most part. There are writing groups and editing meets and co-authoring and all of that, but in the end, sitting down and writing is a one-person job. However, the best thing about writing is that you get to bring characters and worlds to life, and you really get to communicate your feelings to your readers through your books.
Q: How was your trip through writing and publishing so far?
A: Writing and publishing is a hard, long process, though it has definitely been worth it for me. I've been writing ever since I could remember, and the writing has (usually) come to me easily, so that hasn't been too much of a struggle...but the publishing was difficult at first. There were a lot of things I didn't know about, and I had to do a lot of research. But thankfully, I've had my family and friends there to help and support me through it all, and I've learned a lot.
Q: If you could travel back in time would you have done any of it differently?
A: I think there is always going to be something I would have done differently -- something I wish I would have left out of a book, or put in, or a design I wish I would have changed, or a release date that I should have pushed back. But the way I see it, that is in the past, and I'm working in the now, and I can't change it. I've learned from my mistakes, and met some great friends in the process.
Q: Do you have any tips or suggestions for new writers?
A: Yes! My biggest tip to new writers is also one of the best writing tips I've been given: keep writing. It's that simple. If you keep writing, then you're going to finish something, and then you're more likely to get it published and read. Also, don't give up. The road to a dream is often long and hard, but it's worth it in the end, and the journey there is honestly the best part. A good dream is worth fighting for!
Q: What should we expect from you in the future? Do you have any new projects under construction?
A: You should expect a lot! I always have new ideas and projects in my head, and right now, I'm currently working on...seven, I think. I like to be creative, so you'll definitely be seeing more novels, as well as a few surprises that I can't tell you about yet. But I CAN tell you this -- they will be worth the wait! 


You can find Alexandra on her website, blog, twitter and goodreads.
You can buy her books from Amazon and Smashwords.
And you can watch the book trailers for Clara Claus and the Shadows of Past Memories on YouTube

Oct 19, 2011

50 Followers Giveaway

Yay! I've reach 50 Followers a few days ago and I decided to do a giveaway to thank all of you guys. :)

Since this is my first giveaway I decided that all the giveaways to come will have a different theme. This giveaway's theme is:

Old Times

So the books will be older publications, well not so old just before 2005, for some that's old... The giveaway is open to everywhere the BookDepository has free shipping (almost everywhere) and you can compete for one of the following books:

These are all series I've read and loved. You can click on the images to see more information for each book.  The books where originally published in 2001, 2004 and 2002 respectively.

Since this is about older books I'll do the whole giveaway the old style. I'll write the names down and  pick a name out of a bowl! I'll even take photos to post.

The giveaway is open from Oct.20 to Oct.31.

To enter all you have to do is be a follower and just post a comment to this post with your email, so that I can contact the winner to send him/her the book. For an extra entry you can grab my giveaway button and put it in your sidebars. Just make sure to tell me about it in your comment.

Clara Claus by Alexandra Lanc

Jack Frost is well...Jack Frost. He works in the North Pole along with Santa Claus and North Wind and everyone else, making Christmas happen, but there's one special thing about him. Jack hates Christmas. He even tries to destroy them from time to time and when he gets his final notice from St.Nick, who os dying to expel him, he decides to try his last plan. But when the North Pole gets an anexpected visitor, Clara Claus, Stanta's grand-daughter, Jack thinks he should make her the tool of his revenge.

The book is very emotional, there is not so much action, but mostly things are happening inside Jack's and Clara's heads. They are both expiriencing things for the first time and they change along the way. Even if they are complitely different they both remind me a part of myself which helped me connect with them and care about them. 

My favourite character was North, Jack's friend. He was so mystirious and different from any real person that made me all the more curious. I got the feeling that he always knew everything that was going on. 

The things I didn't like are that the book is small and everything happens in a week time, so it felt like everything was happening too fast. I'd like it more if Jack had more time to be his usual 'hating-xmas' self and get to know Clara more slowly. Another was the ending...I am not really sure but I got the feeling that there was more to the story. There were a few lines that indicated that. And then I read at the Author's note that there was supposed to be a sequel. Supposed to be? What's that all about? I want the sequel! 

To conclude, the book is a great, fast read and it's perfect for christmas!

NOTE: There will be an author interview soon, make sure to check it out! 

Oct 16, 2011

Arrived This Week [Oct.10 - Oct.16]

This week, surprisingly, all my arrivals were e-books, my shelve must be so happy I didn't burden it with even more books.
This was also the week I Signed Up at NetGalley and become a Goodreads Librarian so it's a really great week! :)
Let's list the arrivals:

From NetGalley:

1.The emperor's knife
2.The Warrior Heir
3.Every Ohter Day

From Smashwords:

4.Strange Magic
5.Broken City

From the authors:

6.The Black Orb
7.Clara Claus
8.Leftover Shorts

I'm currently reading Clara Claus and next on my list is The Black Orb and Broken City.

What arrivals did you had this week?

Oct 13, 2011

Nearly Departed (Weirdsville, #1) by Rook Hastings

I picked this up expecting to just read a kind of scary story, but it turned out to be so much more!

Bethan, Jay, Kelly, Hashim and Emily never thought they'd ever hang out with each other, but when a teacher puts them all in the same team for a school project everything changes. Emily confesses to them that she can hear ghosts and that she thinks her house is haunting. Each, for a different reason, decides to investigate the house and they find out more than they bargain for. The five of them will get tangled up in their town's secrets and one of them won't make it out alive.

As I got to know the characters and their stories, inner fears and hopes, I became more and more aware that they really resemble normal, everyday people. Everyone has their own personal ghosts and their own fight. Apart they are, sometimes, helpless, but together they can overcome almost everything. All of them so much different but so much alike.

Rook Hastings sets a great beginning for a series I never thought I'd fall in love with. I can't wait to start the next book and spend more haunted nights in Weirdsville.


Oct 9, 2011

Arrived This Week [Oct.3-Oct.9]

Last Monday a hige package from amazon arrived, I was really excited to receive it. What did it had inside?
Well these books:

I couldn't help myself, so I bought them all together.
The package had one more book that I'm curious about.
I've heard a lot of good things about it. The plot is weird. Never heard of anything like it. So, I think I should give it a chance! 

Oct 8, 2011

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1) by George R.R. Martin

There might be possible spoilers in the review.

I can't believe I'm finally finished with this book. It took more than 2 weeks. Now, now, don't get me wrong the book is great. I loved almost everything about it, except maybe the too much describing that went on, but it's usual for epic fantasy books. I guess.

One thing before I start with the book, if you had watched the series, like I did, it gets boring reading the book, almost evertything is the same. And in the series you get to see all these amazing actors you can't help but imagine the characters in the book like them.

The book now, well, the one thing that the series got wrong is the age of the Stark kids, in the books they are younger, but I also think that in the book more time passes by, closer to a year, maybe more, which I didn't get from the series.

The story begins with the Night Watch and what I thought would be the most important thing in the book, (not the night watch but the Others), turns out I was wrong. There are so many things going on. The Hand of King Robert dies and Eddard Start is called to take his place. He goes with a heavy heart, cause he doesn't want to leave half his family and his home back in Winterfell. When he arrive he realizes that maybe the previous Hand didn't have a natural death. He starts following in his footsteps, learning what he did before he died and finding out a (not so) socking truth. In the meantime, we also learn the story of Daenerys, she and her brother are the last of the Targaryen House. They are the last dragons, or blood of the dragons at least. She gets married in hopes to return home to the Seven Kingdoms and claim her familys throne from King Robert.

There are a lot of twists and turns, but I saw them coming, cause I had watched the series. If I hadn't I'm sure there's no way I could predict some things. Like the ending for example, both for the Starks and Daenerys. 

Another think I didn't quite like about the book is that I get the feeling the author is a little bit cruel. Ok, it's war and a lot of people die, but he killed characters that weren't even fighting. I love all the characters and I came to care about them, I can't see them die in the first book! Also I wanted to know the story from Robb's point of view, since I believe he's one of the characters that had to change the most, but no... no Robb for me, not even in the next book! At least there's Arya point of view, she's my second fav.

All in all the book was great, huge...but great! And I'm looking forward for the next one.

P.S. My favourite part of the book are the direwolves. They are adorable!


Oct 7, 2011

Characters and Viewpoint by Orson Scott Card

The blurb (from Goodreads):
This guide provides practical, in-depth instruction on how fiction writers can make the best choices in creating characters and handling viewpoint. Writers will learn how to put original, yet realistic people in their stories, while choosing the viewpoint that best suits the characters and the storyline.

My Thoughts:

Solid, strong and believable characters are the essence of a good book! This book is the perfect guide on how to built this kind of characters. From the very simple things, like their personality and looks to the more complex ones, like the reasons behind their acts, this book explains them all. It is well writen and easy to understand. It can help you create and develop the characters of your story, and why not, maybe your whole story.

I never thought that characters are the most important thing in a story, but I realized as much by reading this book. Even if the storyline is not that strong, extraordinary characters can make even the simpliest of ideas blossom into something beautiful.

The only thing you have to do is make them as real as they can be. Have reasons and motives, hopes and fears, a past and dreams for the future. Give them life. This is a book that helps you with that.

It is the only book I've read about writing and I think that it's given me everything I needed!

Oct 6, 2011

While Reading #1

I haven't posted in a while cause I had been a bit busy. I thought, since I am still reading A Game of Thrones, and don't have a new review, I should make this meme or whatever for the time between the reading.

Among them, What I Am About To Read.

Has any of you read them? Any thoughts?

Also there was A New Release a few days ago.

Jack the Ripper strikes back at modern-day London!
That must be a good one.
It is a must read in my to read list.

But for now I still have to finish the one I'm reading and fast so I can post a review and move on with my reading.

That was all. I just felt like it was time for a quick post.
Have a nice day!

Oct 1, 2011

Arrived This Week [Sept.26-Oct.2]

Last Tuesday a few used books from AwesomeBooks.com arrived at my doorstep. And I'm looking forward to reading all of them. The exciting think is I bought them 2.86€/2.49£/3.89$ each. They were in great condition especially Nearly Departed which looked new.

October Plans and September Memories

The month has changed and Fall is finally starting to show. No more T-shirts, I got bored of them!
So, first I'll talk about things regarding the Month of September. As you can see, I changed the "Book of the (last) Month" to Hex Hall, it was by far the best I read in September and I have the next on waiting for me.

Me: "Wait for me Demonglass, I only have like a million books to read before I start with you"
Demonglass: ...

You didn't expect it to answer, did you?

Anyways, moving on to the best movie I watched in September, this one has to be Pirates of Caribbean: On Stranger Tides.

The movie was fun, with a lot of adventure, battles and mermaids! Johny Depp was Hilarious as ever. I love the character of Jack Sparrow. I also liked the fact that the story wasn't strongly connected with the last three movies. I was beggining to getting tired of Will and Elizabeth. Now this one is pure-Captain Sparrow-crazy and I love it.

Now, song of September. Hmmm, that's a hard one, but I think I got it. After watching Fast Five, you know Vin Diesel, Paul Walker, hot guys, great cars and the most exciting robbery of all time, I fell in love with one song. And here it is. 

Danza Kuduro

Moving on with the Month of October and my plans for it.

I'm struggling to finish A Game of Thrones and I'm almost done! It took me quite some time. So after I'm done with it my to-read list includes:

Not necessarily in this order. I just hope I'll make it through all of them, although I'm not so sure, they're many and I have uni... Hate studying!

Certainly I'll watch whaterver comes to mind but the ones that I must watch are:

  • Drive Angry
  • Source Code (Jake is always so cute!)

If you have any more suggestions or questions feel free to comment.